Skip to main content
Ensemble member Michael Dailey in State of the Union.

State of the Union

Photo credit: Chris Ocken



Season 23

Oct 10, 2010–Nov 13, 2010

3829 N. Broadway

In the wake of World War II, a group of Washington bigwigs convince an aviation tycoon with a deep well of idealism to make a run for The White House. But when politics force him to reunite with his estranged wife and to weather a barrage of backroom deals and threats of scandal, his idealism wears down fast. The Pulitzer- winning State of the Union became a Tracy & Hepburn vehicle directed by Frank Capra, and is still an incredibly potent exploration of the price we pay for politics as usual. The Hypocrites’ Geoff Button (Desire Under the Elms, True West) directs.

Recommended … as timely now as it was when the play premiered … Button’s cast handle the witty dialogue with flair …”

— Chicago Reader

“… go see Strawdog’s snappy and relevant production of State of the Union.”

— Chicago Theater Beat


Michael Dailey.

Michael Dailey*

as Grant

Sam Gleisten

as Mrs. Draper

Kate Harris

as Lulubelle

Jim Heatherly

as Judge

BF Helman

as Conover

Kristina Johnson

as Kay

Anderson Lawfer*

as Spike

Brant Russell

as Hardy

Rob Skrocki

as Senator

Kendra Thulin

as Mary

John Zinn

as Sam

Creative Team

Geoff Button

Diana Raiselis
Assistant Director

Marianna Czaszar
Set Design

Michael Stanfill
Light Design

Joanna Melville*
Costume Design

Maria DeFabo
Props Design

Mike Przygoda

Andrew Wheatley
Sound Design

Derek Todd Matson

Stephanie Neilitz
Stage Manager

Cortney Hurley
Production Manager

* Strawdog Theatre ensemble member